Langston Hughes Awards (KS) / Deadline: December 20


The Lawrence Arts Center and the Raven Bookstore announce their joint sponsorship of the 2020 Langston Hughes Creative Writing Awards. Two awards of $500 each are given annually, one in poetry and the other in fiction.


  • Writers of poets or fiction;
  • Writers currently living in Douglas County, KS, who have maintained residence for at least one year prior to submission;
  • Writers must be 21 years or older;
  • Writers who have not published a book-length volume of poetry or fiction;
  • Previous winners are not eligible.

Winners will be announced on February 1, 2020 (Langston Hughes birthday) and a celebration and reading will be held in honor of the award winners.

Click here for more information and to apply.